## **Edmonton Rally Club**

# **Annual General Meeting Minutes** 2025-01-11

Attendees: Doug Turner, Tamara Sigrist, Janel Padberg, Morgan Lewis, Dave Sharp, Graham Burnley, Mike Elhard, Fred Drury, Andy Wong, Tony McGrath, Mike Thorn, Andy Tailieur, Nicolas Burnley, James Bazak

Minutes by: Samuel Whitney

Welcome from Doug Turner

## President's Message to the Club

As of this year we have held 13 Championship events and one TSD. We managed to expand our Rallycross venues out to Lacombe this year, adding many great new opportunities for future events. Special thanks to Austin, the Lacombe AG society, Machinery Club and Kurt from The Trac on 2 without their interest none of these events would have taken place. The Loon Snark TSD was able to happen by joining forces with CSCC, Special Thanks to Pete for putting that together this year.

The past 2 years in the presidential seat have been educational to say the least. The most important thing I've taken away from the experience is the need to work together. Without commitment and cooperation within the executive board future organisers and members are quick to turn away. This year I encourage the 2025 executive board to keep working with our new venues and joining forces with our local motorsports clubs and enthusiasts to put on the Rally Sports we all enjoy.

I feel there is a misconception that other clubs are our competition, this is the wrong attitude to bring and makes ERC seem unapproachable. We have to be able to work with anyone who is interested in motorsports to ensure the club remains feasible. Everyone needs to project the best version of themselves when representing our club, if you find yourself on the executive board you will be held to a higher standard as stated within our code of conduct.

Good luck to all nominees this year, I wish nothing but success for the 2025 season. its been a slice

-Doug

## **Financial Report:**

As of December 23. 2024 the bank balance is \$9317.71 we have several outstanding expenses \$267.30 Tamara for Loon Snark awards, \$34.92 Pete for the loss difference of the Loon Snark and \$478.37 Doug for bus fuel, headlight for the bus, conference room rental for the Loon snark, MPL sticker and the Bus intake repair parts. Sam has paid for the website domain renewal also.

## Membership, Outreach:

28 members this year, 35 members last year

## Merchandise report:

No new merchandise purchased, Janel did a great job sprucing up our inventory.

## Media/communications report:

Tamara Sigrist has done an excellent job managing our social media accounts all year, Fred Drury was able to get our quick guide and registration link on the homepage of the website, more updates are necessary.

## WCMA report:

Hosted scheduled events at Rad torque Raceway as well as a full ice race schedule.
 Race school and endurance races held as well as the Speedway Revival in late summer.

## **CARS** report:

- > AGM held on the 11th, ERC Proxy sent with Doug Turner
- New president Bill Westhead, Chris Kremer has stepped down.
- Motion passed to form a committee to change the bylaws to have the president elected instead of appointed
- Motion passed to have CARS share a one page monthly news letter to inform all affiliates the activities/ discussions of the board.

## Discussion topics:

- ➤ NASCC hosting race school on January 25th
- > NASCC'S "street safe" class is here to stay with good success over the 2024 ice season.
- ERC currently has no plans to attend the Winter Festival of Speed this year.
- ➤ To clarify the helmet and seatbelt requirements for cars entered in rallyx with a roll cage must have 5 point harness (no expiry dates but must be in good condition) and helmets must be minimum Snell SA 2015 or FIA 8859 2015. UTV helmets are FULL FACE with SHIELD or GOGGLES minimum Snell SA 2010. Regular cars are fine to still run the minimum Snell SA 2005 helmets however i put this in the discussion because we should be mindful of the helmet regulations for passengers going for rides in different cars throughout the event.
- Update and post the SUPPS with every event.

## Bylaws:

I have no motions to modify the bylaws this year

#### Rules:

I have no motions to change the rules

#### Venue Search:

- Roy's Lake with the NASCC
- ➢ Bill's Field
- Lacombe

#### 2025 Goals:

- > Increase membership, entry, sponsors,
- ➤ Improve event proceedings (assign jobs to attendees before events, train more people on timing equipment, MSR, and start on time!!) .
- Replace stickers on the Bus(update sponsor stickers), perhaps replace the busted rear window?
- > Perform major service on Bus, (transmission fluid, rear diff fluid, and the front shocks! we should also budget for a set of new tires)
- > Tractor is in need of new tires, they don't hold air so well
- > Tractor should get the proper weights for the front, the I beam is a hassle.
- > Stick to our posted Rallycross schedule (main competitor complaint)
- ➤ Host a TSD.

**Promotions:** Drop in rate of \$20 for 2 runs then \$10 per run, this rate is after going for one ride- along to preview course. This deal is at the organisers discretion, if we are too busy, sign up for the next one for a guaranteed spot!

## **Proposed Preliminary Event dates:**

January 25- Attend DMS @RTR
February 8 – Attend DMS @RTR
Feb 9 – Rallycross Championship @Roy's Lake
March 2 – Rallycross Championship @Roy's Lake
March 23 – Rallycross Championship @Roy's Lake
May 4 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field
May 18 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field
June 8 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field
July 20 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field
August 10 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field
September 14 – Rallycross Championship @ Bills Field

September 27 - Northern Loon October 19 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field November 16 – Rallycross Championship @Bills Field December 13&14 – Rallycross Championship double header @ Bills Field

Motion to accept preliminary schedule by Doug Turner Seconded by Voted to accept unanimously

## Honorary Membership Election:

none this year

#### **Board Elections**

• President (1 year term)

Nominations: Tamara Sigrist Unanimously voted in favour

• Vice President (2 year term)

Nominations: Janel Padberg unanimously voted in favour

• Treasurer 1 year term left (renews for the 2 year term in 2026)

Nominations: Doug Turner unanimously voted in favour

• Secretary (2 year term)

Nominations: Morgan Lewis unanimously voted in favour

• One Member at Large

2 year term spot

Nominations: Andy tailleur Unanimously voted in favour

Janels spot 1 year term left (renews for 2 year term in 2026)

James bazak Unanimously voted in favour

#### New executive for 2025

#### **President**

• Tamara Sigrist

#### **Vice President till 2027**

Janel Padberg

## Secretary till 2027

Morgan Lewis

#### **Treasurer till 2026**

• Doug Turner

#### **Members at Large**

- Andy Tailleur (2 years left)
- Mike Thorn (1 year left)
- James Bazak (1 year left)

Doug Turner moves to adjourn the AGM,

Seconded by Andy Tailleur Passed Unanimously



# **Edmonton Rally Club**

## **Society Bylaws**

Can be seen at @

http://www.edmontonrallyclub.ca/new/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/ERC-Bylaws-2017.pdf

Attached below are the balance and profit/loss sheets from the financial report.

Income	
Statement	
(Profit &	
Loss)	
Edmonton Rally Club	
As of December 31, 2023	
REVENUE	
Gross sales	15,418
Donations	-
Less: sales returns and allowances	

Net sales		\$15,41
EXPENSES		
Accounting / Legal Fees	-	
Advertising	306	
Amortization		
Bank Fees	-	
Banquet / Meeting Expenses	-	
Bus Expenses	6,521	
Credit Card / Pay Pal Fees / Commisions	801	
Fees, Dues, Subscriptions	105	
Office expenses	25	
Rally x / Lap Day Expenses	10,401	
Travel Expenses	275	
Tractor Expenses	218	
Total expenses		\$18,65
Net operating income		-\$3,23
OTHER INCOME		
Gain (loss) on sale of assets		
Interest income	1	
Total other income		\$
Net income (loss)		-\$3,23